iPhone 4 to be available in 17 additional countries

By now you’ve heard that Apple has admitted to the issues with the iPhone 4 antenna design. And by now you know that you can receive a free bumper if you buy an iPhone 4 between now and September 30th, 2010. Plus, if you’ve already purchased a bumper you can get a refund. One thing you may not have heard from the press conference is when additional countries are going to be receiving their iPhone 4.

The initial launch of the iPhone 4 on June 24th was limited to five countries—the United States, the UK, France, Germany and Japan. Starting on July 30th, 2010, an additional seventeen countries will have the iPhone 4. The list is Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, China, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. There was an eighteenth country that was to have the iPhone 4, South Korea, but this is no longer the case. As Steve Jobs said in the conference: “It will take a little longer to get approval there.”

There is no date for the release of the iPhone 4 in South Korea. My guess is that it just depends upon how quickly South Korea wants to have the iPhone in the hands of their citizens.

In addition to the iPhone 4 being available in those countries, the white iPhone also makes its debut on the 30th of July as well. However, initial quantities will be limited for the white iPhone 4. As of this writing, none of the Apple Stores have been updated to reflect the announcement. This is what the Canada Apple store Store shows.


The thing I’m waiting for is to see who the first person in line for all of these countries will be. Are they going to stay in line longer than a week, like the first guy in Dallas?

I'm into everything technology related, particularly anything Apple related. I enjoy programming and tend to lean towards server-based technologies over client-based. You can contact me on twitter, via e-mail, or follow me on friendfeed.